Your Safety Is Our Priority.

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Lake Worth, FL Medical and Surgical Director Jay Wallshein, M.D.

Filter52 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from L.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 01, 2021

I have been seeing Dr. Wallshein since he started this practice. Having previously been married to an ophthalmologist, I have a unique perspective regarding this medical specialty. In my opinion, everyone employed here makes an effort to provide professional, helpful care. It is normal for us, as patients, to be skeptical & especially nervous when it comes to our eyes. We should be protective of our vision. However, trusting our physicians, that they are doing their best for us, is also important. Over the years, I have been followed by Dr. Wallshein & his associates for a chronic illness & drug interactions, as well as surgery for cataracts & stent implantation for glaucoma. All of these interactions have proven positive & in my 60's, my pressures are now normal & I am seeing everything without eyeglasses. I highly recommend that you trust your vision to these well trained & caring professionals!⚜ More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 26, 2021

I am always treated very well by the staff and Dr. Wallshein. Everyone is very professional and thorough. I would definitely recommend PalmBeach Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 03, 2021

I began seeing Dr. Wallshein 10 years ago. God has blessed this doctor with a true gift. Other eye doctors performed tests exactly the same as each other, but Wallshein has more advanced equipment, (besides his stellar education and credentials) that I didn't know about in advance of my visit. I didn't know I had borderline glaucoma. Every other DR I had seen used the standard puff test, which is adequate for detecting full blown eye pressure.. Wallshein uses a far more accurate field vision test instead, and caught the disease at early onset- preventing further damage. I am a snowbird. I wouldn't trust my eyesight to anyone else, so I travel here to see this Physician. This is a practice you can trust with your eyesight and with your wallet. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 28, 2021

Dr Wallshein and his staff are extremely efficient, knowledgeable and caring. I’m quite pleased and grateful for the services, care and compassion shown to me. Sandy Lawrence More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 29, 2021

Dr. Wallshein and his staff are very professional and Dr is very knowledgeable and explains and answers your questions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2021

Dr. Wallshein is a brilliant ophthalmologist. Spot on with his diagnoses and therapies. An excellent overall experience with this office. I highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 15, 2021

Dr. Wallshein and his whole team are very knowledgeable and helpful. The doctor explains your situation very clearly, and offers very sensical advice. I highly recommend PBEC. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 08, 2021

Personnel ate friendly and efficient. Dr. Wallshein is extremely knowledgeable. Takes time to explain everything. I never get the feeling that he is trying to fit in as many patients as he possibly can in an hour. Highly recommend More

5.0
Review from R.K.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 15, 2020

Knowing that you need surgery is scary especially when it comes to your eyes. I was very concerned because my first eye that another doctor performed ended up in some complications. One of my friends recommended Dr. Wallshein for cataract surgery and so I went to him. He’s quite young but makes up for it in skill, mannerisms, and personality. I had my second eye done by Dr. Wallshein and my vision has surpassed my expectations. I was completely comfortable throughout the whole surgery. I’m glad that I had the opportunity to be introduced. Unfortunately, the doctor is no longer taking my insurance, but I plan to see him anyway. The optical shop and optician are great. The staff really care. He has my vote of confidence. More

5.0
Review from H.C.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 15, 2020

Long time patient of this practice and only had great experiences. Dr. Wallshein always takes good care of family and is easy to communicate with. We like and appreciate his work and expertise. I had pain around my eye for many years. Previously I had shingles. I saw 4 doctors in the area for it and not much was done. Dr. Wallshein did some tests and found two issues. First, I had neuropathic pain which he prescribed a pill and it worked well. Secondly, I had very severe dry eyes from the nerve damage. He made special drops for me which really helped. All is great now. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2020

The best experience. The front desk are kind. I was recommended to this eye center and Dr. Wallshein because several people told me they are the must thorough and well trained from staff to Dr. Wallshein. I had several problems that nobody else could figure out. My vision was not 20/20 anymore and that was a real problem for me and it was getting worse. Several other eye centers said you're almost 20/20 and everything looked fine. Well here comes Dr. Wallshein. He examined me and without me telling all the problems I had except that my vision wasn't as good, he said "I'm not happy with your current vision" Something is wrong and then I felt a sigh of relief that someone actually was on the right track. He did multiple tests and found the problem. Its not a super easy fix but its manageable and not serious. Dr. Wallshein is kind and warm and explains everything. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2020

Family and friends have been patients of Dr. Wallshein for many years. Even when he's super busy he always gets us in for emergencies and whenever we need to be seen. From many years ago until now we have been very happy with him and continue to be happy with him. One of my friends had an operation from another physician at a didn't go as well as planned. Dr Wallshein fixed him well and now he sees great and feels great. We've had many different types of care treatments including for dry eyes, cataract, pterygium and macular degeneration. We've always been very pleased with our outcomes. I've seen a few negative reviews about him but they're definitely not true. He's extremely personable loves to talk about the patient's lives and also communicates about his own very effectively to make you part of his life. He's the most caring physician oven know and beyond smart. He's the doc that will figure out what's wrong when others don't. We have experience with that as well. if you need help with anything he'll be there and if you ask him for more time or to talk about anything else he'll definitely stay and listen or communicate. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 16, 2020

Dr Jay Wallshein, his colleagues & his entire staff are extremely professional. This is a comprehensive eye center handling all eye problems. Dr Wallshein takes the time to answer all questions I may have. He keeps current on all eye treatments & monitors issues in an effort to prevent irreversible problems with my eyes, as well as for my mom & husband. With the treatments he has done for my dry eye condition, I no longer have an issue. Because of family history he knows what to look out for in my aging eyes. Dr Wallshein was instrumental in saving my mom’s eyesight due to a retina problem & glaucoma. His technicians are patient, thorough and very friendly. The optical manager, Jim Hurlbert, is top notch. Jim is extremely knowledgeable about the products in the optical Dept. He strives to ensure his customers are satisfied. When the lenses arrive from the lab, he becomes a quality control rep...making sure that the lenses fit properly & that the customer is totally satisfied. A satisfied customer is a return customer! I highly recommend Palm Beach Eye center for all your optical needs! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 17, 2019

Helpful and efficient staff. Dr. Wallshein seems knowledgeable and caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2019

I started with this physician about 10 years ago. I was recommended by my primary care physician who used him. I also have about 40 other friends that use Dr. Wallshein. He performed cataract surgery on many of them. He also performed lid surgery on several. Dr. Wallshein is very caring and very ethical. We all love going to his practice and he's a good doctor. My vision after cataract surgery is 20/20 without glasses. I had no pain or discomfort from it. All of my friends had great outcomes as well. I had lid surgery with him as well and my lids look fantastic. Prior to surgery explained that I may get black and blue for up to 4 weeks. The usual is 2 weeks. I had it for about 10 days and a little swelling. I also was told that small scars could form around the sutures but I didn't get any. My friend had a few and were removed easily. Botox was explained helps keep the lids looking great for a much longer time than just the lids surgery itself. He's completely right. Anyone that hasn't had the Botox looks like they're the same a year later. Mine has been excellent for much longer. I read a review that was negative on here about lid surgery. The person is clueless. All you need to do is call the good doctor and he'll take care of everything. The office can get busy. Well that's because everyone wants to go to him. All the doctors in the area do and they send everyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2019

Spectacular physician as well as very caring and very accurate. My whole family comes here and very happy . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2019

Dr. Wallshein has been my eye doctor for the past 6 years. I brought my daughter for a follow up field test at the Lake Worth office, as recommended by Dr. Wallshein. I have to mention the wonderful staff at the front desk, Genesis, who checked her in and the two young ladies who checked my daughter out and made her next appointment, Tamika and Stephanie. Also, behind the scenes at the Lake Worth office, Valerie and Brexis, who were efficient in testing her eyes. I must say the optic technicians at this office were very courteous and pleasant towards us. I have to give an extra special greeting to Dr. Wallshein's right hand optic technician. You know who you are, Nellys!!! You are always smiling and pleasant in the office with him writing the notes in each patient's chart, as he examines each patients' eyes before he signs off on the chart. Our experience at the Lake Worth office was just as pleasant, as the Wellington's office. Keep up the good work Guys. Thank you Dr. Wallshein, you stated that my daughter's eyes are fine and she does not have to see you until next year. Yay!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2019

The entire staff is friendly and always smiling! They always explain what is happening and why. Dr Wallshein is an amazing doctor! I highly recommend this office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2019

We have been with this doctor for approximately a year and in that time we have always had the most amazing experience in his practice. His staff is absolutely efficient and kind and caring and very helpful in every way. When you call you don't get a voicemail you get a person immediately. When you work with the opticians you always get thorough and personalized care. Dr wallshein is top-notch and always spends a lot of time with us. I had a problem with my vision where I noticed it night things were not clear. Even during the daytime it was not the best. I went to another ophthalmologist in the area that said that my vision was perfect and everything was fine. Then I saw Dr wallshein Who looked at my optic nerves and thought they were a little bit on the pale side. Initially I was kind of upset because I never heard this before and it didn't make any sense. Then he said let's do the testing and find out and if everything's fine then you have nothing to worry about and if everything is not fine we'll treat it. Sure enough I did the testing and I had a high Mercury level high arsenic level in a severely low vitamin B12 level. We did a visual field test and it showed a significant reduction in my Center vision and my color vision was that normal. Basically I had an optic nerve disorder from severe vitamin B12 deficiency. I've been treated and doing much better and he is working with me for a continued Improvement I'm excited that I found such a great physician in the area. There really isn't anyone more thorough and kind and caring that I have met before. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2019

I have been a patient with Dr Wallshein at Palm Beach Eye for many years, he has been treating me for dry eye syndrome. The office is run very efficiently, and professionally. Occasionally very busy, but they do eventually get around to getting all the patients in. I had dry eye testing done today by Alis--very professional and explained what she was doing thoroughly. I have always been pleased with the professionalism of Dr Wallshein and his treatment of me and will answer questions and give me his honest opinion in my care. Stephanie was very nice when checking me out and making my next appointment---explained about the best days and time to make my appointment so I would not have to wait as long and explained why this does sometimes happens--- very friendly and I appreciated the truthfulness. I recommend this group when asked by people I know. Mimi Martin More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 27, 2019

went to see him for blurred vision & pain in eye More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 27, 2019

went in for follow up on high pressure in my eyes More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 25, 2019

I had a wonderful experience from Tamika checking me in to Stephanie checking me out. The office was very busy, however I was taken back right away. The technician, Alis who performed my eye exams was simply lovely, yet very professional. Dr. Wallshein is very thorough and to the point. He found a mole in my left eye that needs to be watched that no other doctor has brought to my attention. I will be coming back...great group of people! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 30, 2019

Dr. Wallshein is very thorough and I know that my eye health is in good hands! His staff is very helpful and professional. I highly recommend this doctor - my experience in his office is always very good. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 25, 2019

Pleasant experience - My recent visit with Dr. Wallshein went very well. It was handled in a very professional manner. The office staff was especially friendly, and the technician, Nellys, did a wonderful and thorough job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 25, 2019

Excellent experience - By Neil Fredricks: I just had a wonderful appointment with Dr Wallshein. From Genesis who checked me in to the technician, Nellys and my visit with Dr Wallshein everything went terrificly. I’m looking forward to my next appointment.Neil Fredricks More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 23, 2019

The eye exams I received at Palm Beach Eye Center are thorough and I leave reassured that my eye health was in good hands. Dr. Wallshein takes his time with the exam and answering questions. Dr. Wallshein thinks out of the box. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 20, 2019

I always feel that I've had the best possible eye exam when I leave Palm Beach Eye Center. However - the office is always packed - you're on an assembly line - first one tech, then another tech, then tests, then doctor. Assume you'll be there 2-3 hours. Also Dr. Wallshein doesn't have a great bedside manner - not warm an fuzzy. But if that's not important to you - you can't beat the professionalism and thoroughness of the practice More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 18, 2019

I went to several other doctors in the area that just prescribed artificial tears and said come back in six months. Dr wallshein was excellent diagnosed me clearly and explained everything very thoroughly. Although there are a lot of patients in his waiting room he spends as much time as you need with him and he is very caring and thoughtful. I wasn't sure how I was going to proceed so I called his office and ask to speak to him and he gladly took the call and further explain my diagnosis and treatment plan. The treatment was expensive in general terms but it was very effective and I'm nearly 100% better. He really is the best doctor in town. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 16, 2019

Horrible Experience - I never write reviews but felt compelled in this disturbing case. I visited Dr Wallshein to treat eye inflammation due to ocular rosacea. After a VERY BRIEF examination, I was advised my eye glands were blocked. I was diagnosed with MGD and Dry Eye. He stressed the urgency of treatment, instilling major fear that I will lose all my eye glands. In reality this is a common condition not requiring the urgent intervention recommended. I was strongly directed to have a procedure called Lipiflow which cleans the blocked eyelid glands. Conveniently for Dr Wallshein’s wallet/profit, I was told I could have it immediately at a cost of “$1000”. The fear factor instilled in me by the Dr led me to have this costly procedure. Without having any benefit of research and out of fear I accepted. I later learned there are other much less costly ways to resolve the issue. Dr Wallshein also insisted on a specific optho antibiotic doxycycline that he has to make and costs $200. I later learned there are alternatives that cost $8 dollars. The Dr does not alleviate your fears and concerns nor fully explain his diagnosis or prognosis. This practice is nothing but a money making enterprise. He will over recommend procedures and medications, none covered by insurance. The Dr is more interested in lining his own pockets than consideration of less expensive alternatives. Further,  upon my arrival there were no less than “40” patients in the waiting room. A horrible anxiety producing chaotic environment. A patient factory. In summation this practice namely Dr Jay Wallshein is more concerned with his personal profit than his patients eye health or ability to pay for his costly procedures and medications of which are offensively and egregiously expensive and not covered by insurance even when viable alternatives are available. Horrible and upsetting experience. I suggest you select another Opthamologist at all cost. Save yourself personal grief, anxiety, disappointment and severe financial loss. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 04, 2019

very good More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 25, 2019

Spectacular doctor and very caring - approximately 4 years ago is when we started with this practice. My husband and I both had cataracts the Dr. wallshein had operated on and did a great job with. We also had a few other problems along the way including dry eyes, one episode of infection in the tear duct which was gently cared for in the office as well as I had a lid surgery for cosmetic reasons. Everything came out beautiful and the doctor is extremely caring and thoughtful. His hands are spectacular More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 21, 2019

Spectacular. Dr. Wallshein discovered I had a mercury toxicity and severe B12 deficiency. Since my treatments I'm doing great I see and feel better. Other eye doctors I went to just wanted to remove my cataracts. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Apr 18, 2019

Best! - Without a doubt, he is the best ophthalmologist in the area. My other docs, (I have quite a few specialists) ALL recommend him. I trust Dr. Wallshein completely, he has helped me a lot for years,and I won’t ever consider going to anyone else. His staff is very courteous as well. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Apr 17, 2019

He Is The Best - I’ve been a patient of his for many years. The Pros: He is the best. He is very knowledgeable, knows all of the cutting edge treatments and he’s very nice whenever I see him. He has helped me a lot.. The Cons: I can’t stand the location. The office is at the back of a medical plaza ,driving in and out or parking, especially during crowded times can be a nightmare. The waiting time is always so long. I think he overbooks. These days every time I go there, it’s so crowded I can count on being there at least two hours or more, to the point that I dread my appts. The saying “hurry up and wait” would accurately describe it. I did almost look for another dr. because if the waiting times. That said, I keep going there because he is the only one I trust with my eye care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 13, 2019

The best medical office ive ever been. From start to finish these people are real pros. I had aeverels dry eyes and they fixed it that 4 other local oraciprac couldn't. Dr Wallshein is kind, professional, and caring. He takes care of most of my family and everyone loves him . I don't think I have met anyone so precise and particular as he is. Even when I told him I was satidsati with my dry eywa, he said he wasn't. He took it to the next level and I could tell the difference. Super pleased. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 12, 2019

Very Professional and Compassionate - Dr Wallshein treated my father for years. Now I see him every year. All the staff is friendly and helpful. He answers all of your question without hesitation. Its been over 10 years for me and my father far longer. Thank you for your expertise! My husband sees Dr Barrish whom is professional too, We are all happy with the staff and service we receive. Thank you all for making our experience an exceptional one. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 24, 2019

Five Stars - I was desperate to have something done about my eyes and all Wallshein could talk about was how many times a day I brush my teeth!!!!!!!!!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2019

Truly one of the best experiences I ever has in an eye doctor office and I've been to at least 5 in the area. Nobody could help me with my problems.i went to one place and the doctor gave me artificial tears...waste of time. Another gave me steroids and plugs. Another told me to buy this otc gel compresses. I got mrsa staph from it and then I asked my medical doctor who he goes to ...and he said I have to give you 3 names but almost everyone goes to Wallshein and palm beach eye center. So I did and everyone was great. The doctor looked at my eyes and tested me . I had an undiagnosed condition that resulted in 40 percent of my glands lost forever. Everyone else in the area didn't even test. These guys are the best and several months later I see great sleep great and love my eyes. Sometimes you have to pay a little to get the best care and insurances don't pay for it all. My whole family goes here and are all super happy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2018

Ive been going to Palm Beach Eye Center in Lake Worth for 10 years. My physician is Dr. Wallshein. The first exam was about 10 years ago when I called the office for an emergency. He came to the office right away and saw me for my issue. I had an infection in the eye and he treated it with antibiotics. It went away fast. He gave me his cell phone number to call if there was a problem and I had a follow up exam scheduled. On other visits I had been seen by him for cataract surgery and had both eyes done. My vision is spectacular and I can drive and read without any glasses. Since the beginning all of my family sees him. I have also recommended all of my friends and about 20 have all had amazing experiences in his office. Between all of my friends we have been to almost every eye doctor in Lake Worth, Delray, Boynton and Wellington areas. Everyone is most impressed with Dr. Wallshein. On occasion we have had to wait a little longer than I'd like but when he's in the room he gives you all the time you need and always ask is there any other issues. One time, my husband had another issue. He said he was having difficult with his balance and seeing as well. Dr. Wallshein stopped what he was doing, ordered a bunch of tests, and a few in the office. My husband ended up having a serious condition that everyone else missed. We Love Dr. Wallshein. The best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2018

I was very pleased and happy with the care I received today on first visit .No wait given much attention. Dr.Wallshein was very informative with me.Very honest. Set me up to see plastic surgeon. Received more in one visit than I have received in one year of going every 2 monthes to my ophthalmologist neurologist. STAFF ALSO VERY KIND AND HELPFUL.I give Dr.Wallshein 5 stars, More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2018

My family and I have always had exceptional experiences here. From the beginning Dr Wallshein treated us well. I had very dry eyes and was given recommendations from another physician that didn’t work. Dr Wallshein gave me a treatment regimen that worked perfectly and my eyes are great now. He has always been kind and caring towards me and very patient. I’ve been to many other local eye doctors and no success. I see great and feel great. Thank you Dr Wallshein for all your care More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2018

I develop dryness in my eyes about 3 or 4 years ago. At that time I went to see a group of physicians in the Boynton Beach area and after that I went to see another group in Palm Beach Gardens. After that group I then went to see another set of physicians in the Boca Raton area. One of my friends recommended an eye doctor in the Delray Beach area and after seeing all four of them I realized that all of them are trained about the same and are pretty much very basic in their methodologies. Each of them prescribed artificial tears of different types and put plugs in my tear ducts. One gave me Restasis that burned. It was after that that I asked one of my friends who has dryness of her eyes who he uses and he says that she uses the doctors at Palm Beach Eye Center specifically Dr. Wallshein and that his physician recommended. I called my VIP internist and asked who she used and I got a different answer. It was something like here are 3 names, and in a softer voice "but all the doctors in the area use this last one on the list, Dr Wallshein." She said "so do I." So I was in his office and he starts listening to my case and after 5 mins of my experience, he just asked me to stop right there and basically requested that he be allowed to do some dry testing on the spot. It was done and it was determined that I have multiple problems leading to my condition and he said that artificial tears and plugs were never going to be an effective way to treat it. So I'm supposed to believe this one and not everyone else? My wife and I was shocked and so we left the office. I requested my medical records and ended up going to another physician in the Fort Lauderdale area who than recommended once again artificial tears, plugs and this time a steroid. After doing this for several months with no improvement, I decided to return to Palm Beach Eye Center to discuss my case further. The doctor asked where I had been for so long and I said that I decided to get another opinion. We both smiled. To be honest I thought the doctor was looking to get some extra money because there was a test that was not covered by insurance of $40. He said he wished everything was covered as well because it would certainly be a lot easier to treat patients in an effective way. Anyway after multiple years of all my problems, Dr Wallshein made a treatment plan and I followed it. It's been 2 months now that I saw the good doctor and I feel great. My eyes are perfect and I sleep great at night. I can use the computer all day long. I cannot tell you how this is changed my life and I cannot tell you how wrong people can be and short-sighted. Anyway I'm just very pleased with this doctor. My wife had cataract surgery and had an absolute beautiful outcome with 20/20 vision distance and near. My daughter now sees him and she's very happy with her new contact lenses. I highly recommend this practice to all my friends. They are truly ethical smart and are thinking outside the box when it comes to treating conditions that nobody else does and I mean this literally as I saw just about everyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2017

Truly one of the best experiences I ever had in a doctor's office. The office is sterile and clean. They work smoothly. The staff are kind and helpful. Dr. Wallshein is very focused on medicine. I came in with vision loss in one eye. Lost it all unfortunately. I was examined and tested, and sent for blood tests immediately. They all came back positive for Giant Cell Arteritis. I was placed on prednisone and my symptoms started to resolve. Thankfully, I was treated in time or I would have lost the vision in my other eye. Some of my vision has returned in the bad eye but its liveable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2017

I developed double vision and went to Dr wallshein for a diagnosis and treatment plan. What he had told me was not what I wanted to hear and I was also required to pay for a refraction which I did not want to. He actually told me that if I did not get it done I would not be able to have an accurate diagnosis. I read someone else's review here and had to respond because had I not had it done and the motility testing of my eyes something serious would have been missed. Dr. Wallshein confirmed that I had a fourth nerve palsy, and then he told me that I had a third nerve palsy as well. I was actually pretty upset with this because my other doctor did not confirm this diagnosis. So he sent me for my CAT scan of my arteries in my brain and an aneurysm was found confirming the third nerve palsy. I remember being in the room telling the doctor that I was not going to pay for the refraction and that I honestly thought that he was just trying to get some money from me. But after the thoroughness of the testing and the confirmed diagnosis I can't tell you how stupid I feel for thinking what I did. I even gave some of the staff a hard time in the office. What a mistake and I am so happy that I am alive today to talk about this and if anyone is reading this to let doctors be doctors and do what they need to do to make you better. Don't let a small amount of money come between you and proper testing. The doctor is excellent ethical and caring. He gave me his cell phone number and has texted me at least 5 times to make sure that I was doing well and made it through my surgery. I am so happy to be alive and have a great doctor and I recommend everyone to him and basically tell them don't argue with him with anything that small cost. I was in the waiting room and I was talking to a patient of the doctors with dry eyes, that was chronic and not going away and the patients are multiple other Physicians. The doctor recommended a somewhat expensive treatment plan that was not covered by insurance and the patient's problem is now 100% resolved which was not resolved with multiple other physicians and many years. My Outlook is good and I'm very happy to be alive. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2017

best ophthalmology of Florida ! Dr. Jay Wallshein is the best ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 26, 2016

I absolutely love going to this practice. I have seen the reviews below and I can't tell you how much I agree with the 5 stars. Dr Wallshein diagnose me with a cranial nerve palsy that cause me to have double vision. At the front desk I was required to do a refraction and then testing on my eye muscles that's found the problem. Dr wallshein was concerned that one of the other nerves might be involved and sent me for an MRI of the arteries in my brain which found the aneurysm. I'm alive today. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 24, 2016

Absolutely the best experience I have ever had in an opthamologist office. The office is amazing and Dr wallshein really cared for me. My eyes are so much better because of him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2016

Jay Wallshein is probably the best Ophthamologist that my wife and I have ever used. We moved to south Florida and we were referred to him by our internist. My wife had been diagnosed, when we lived in Pennsylvania, with early stage Glaucoma. Doctor Wallshein confirmed the diagnosis but also wanted to do some blood tests. The tests discovered low levels of Vitamin B and high levels of Mercury and Arsenic. He successfully gave my wife a plan to bring all levels back to normal. If that was not enough, a cousin of ours, who just moved to South Florida, had a medical problem and needed an ophthalmologist on an emergency basis. We referred her to Dr. Wallshein who saw her immediately even though he has a very busy office in Lake Worth. I would recommend he to all who need his services without hesitation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 22, 2015

Five Stars - The office staff was so friendly and helpful, front desk was very busy but still spoke to me about my insurance and helped me get a referral. Doctor Wallshein was kind and gave me artificial tears and samples which helped my budget! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2014

Ive been to a couple of different eye doctors for my glasses and contacts. This office was by far the most professional and Dr Wallshein explained everything in such a detailed manner. I will def be referring any family and friends to this office More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2014

Great physician! Dr. Wallshein is very knowledgeable and easy to talk to. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.